I’ve written before about how to update vintage furniture.  I absolutely LOVE buying vintage, thrifted furniture, but I always mix it with modern decor or update it to keep it from looking too stale.  Lately, I’ve been really into block-painting furniture.  It used to be HUGE when people were dipping the legs of vintage furniture in color to modernize it.

Screen Shot 2016-10-26 at 12.12.47 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-26 at 12.11.14 PM.png

Lately, I’ve noticed more people sectioning off an area of their furniture and painting it one color.

Screen Shot 2016-10-26 at 12.17.13 PM.png

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-19-06-pm

Over a year ago, I purchased a midcentury nightstand from a local thrift store for $8.  The top of it was in bad condition, but I was hoping that a good scrub and possibly some sanding would remedy the situation.  Fast forward to now, this little guy has been sitting in my living looking rather sad and stained.


I decided to tape out a modern design that covers the stains but allows the rest of the beautiful wood to shine.  I absolutely love how modern it looks now.

 

 

 

