Tags

,

Our master bathroom is not my taste really.  It’s not truly offensive, so it won’t be getting touched for a while.  However, it’s not really a space that I enjoy being.  My major issue is the open storage.  There is NO hidden storage in the entire room, and bathroom items are rather personal items that I’d prefer to keep hidden.

IMG_0174

I added a lot of storage boxes (which I already owned) to hide some of our necessities, but it still looks messy ALL OF THE TIME.  Since we’re saving our pennies for a makeover one day, I have been trying to solve some of the issues for the meantime and make it an enjoyable space.

My mom recommended that I make removable curtains for the sink vanity, so I can have hidden storage beneath it.  Here are some examples:

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 2.20.13 PM.png

Leverone Design, Inc.


Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 2.23.30 PM.png

Alison Kandler Interior Design


Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 2.24.20 PM.png

Wendi Young Design

I LOVE this idea, so I started the search for an appropriate (water-proof) fabric that is fun AND ties into the existing mint green glass vanity top.  After visiting every fabric store in Washington DC, I felt dejected by the lack of choices UNTIL Marshall’s saved me with a clearance shower curtain that was neutral enough to tie into the current mint green countertop and my bedroom


  I love sewing, so creating the curtain was no issue.  It took 10 minutes-ish?  I made a pleat in the middle, so it looked more custom and attached it with stick-on velcro.  I should have applied more velcro along the edge to keep a tight fit, but I ran out and haven’t cared to remedy it yet.

 

It’s certainly better than it was beforehand and the fabric has held up for 6 months without an issue.   Oh, and it’s wrinkly.  My husband takes it down and leaves it on the ground… every morning.  Totally throwing him under the bus for that.   

 

