Tags

,

A while back, I wrote a “Craigslist in Indiana” post about wonderful furniture for sale in Indiana (where many of my friends and family live).  I thought I’d do a similar one for DC because our Craigslist is the absolute best I’ve ever seen (except for NYC).  I purchase a lot of my furniture through Craigslist.  I know a lot of people get weirded out by 2nd hand furniture, but if you love vintage and antique furniture like me there is no other option.  I always have my 2nd hand furniture thoroughly cleaned, and I only purchase from homes that are clean, smoke-free, and animal-free environments.  If you’re in the DC area, I beg you to PLEASE go buy one of these amazing items (because I don’t have room for them)!

  1. My first find is a fabulous African mud cloth sofa for only $150!

00u0u_8If6Fdoj16p_600x450.jpg

I can picture it styled like the image below (found on the fabulous interior design blog Noznoznoz).

noznoznoz-mud-cloth-chair-home-office

African Mud Cloth Office Chair

2. These tufted, grey club chairs would be mine, if I didn’t already own tufted, grey club chairs. $250 for the pair. They’d look great across from a leather sofa or to create a small conversation area in the corner of a room.  I also LOVE their modern legs.

1.jpg

3. This gorgeous queen-sized antique brass headboard and footboard is only $75!

00f0f_hw1z9rrx9sh_600x450

It could be styled similarly to this antique brass bed by Lauren Liess interiors (a local DC designer).

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 3.28.19 PM.png

Lauren Liess Design (image from Houzz.com)

4. I’m also digging this midcentury modern dining table for $95.  It’d be a great statement piece.  I’d probably get rid of the chairs that come with this table in favor of something like these ghost chairs for $50 each.

00P0P_1T0wr7U2UOH_600x450.jpg

Can you picture that dining table styled like this picture by Megan Blake Design (another local DC designer)?!

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 3.42.51 PM.png

5. My FAVORITE kind of dining chairs: bentwoods! They are classic, and they look lovely in their natural wood tone or painted in a bright color.  This set of 4 is only $100!

00x0x_aLaAx4dgWPp_600x450.jpg

I have natural bentwoods in my own dining room, but you can see some fun, colorful ones styled below by Dayka Robinson Designs.

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 3.58.21 PM.png

6. This last one might take some convincing, but I’m POSITIVE that in the right home these vintage nightstands ($80 for the set) would SHINE.  Don’t even dare paint over that chevron wood detail!

00k0k_2S35flIUGoQ_600x450.jpg

Although the above nightstands are not midcentury modern, they would still look stellar in a sleek space similar to that below (by Blake Civiello Architecture).

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 4.14.22 PM.png

 

**Just a tip for your own future Craigslist searches: Craigslist has four options for browsing their server (list, thumb, gallery, and map).  I always choose the “gallery” button.  It displays large pictures of the items, so you don’t have to scroll through a list of tiny thumbnail images.  It makes browsing much faster!  This particular post only took about 30 minutes of browsing and writing with that function!

