I’m sure I’ve already mentioned that I’m indecisive.  According to my sweet husband, it’s not my worst trait, but I don’t know what he could be referring to. 🙂  Back when I was painting my dining room, I think I considered every color under the sun.  Luckily, Benjamin Moore has a wonderful tool that allows one to see a few colors in their space before committing (or buying samples).  Now, I’m planning a mini kitchen renovation, and a neutral color pallet is just not my style.

I began my planning by collecting inspirational kitchen pictures and fitting my lofty ideas into a tight budget.  Of course, I “need” NEW CABINETS!  NEW LIGHTS!  NEW COUNTERTOPS!  NEW EVERYTHING!  Spoiler alert: none of those are in my tight budget.

THE PLAN:

  1.  Change my laminate cabinets into traditional shaker cabinets
  2. Keep my black granite countertop and add white or marble subway tile above it
  3. Paint the walls and ceiling
  4. Paint the cabinets in two different tones
  5. Add new hardware

I need help deciding on cabinet colors and hardware.  I’ll be painting my upper cabinets in a bright white called “Chantilly Lace” by Benjamin Moore.  The walls and ceiling will also be the same bright white.  The backsplash will be white subway tile grouted with a dark grey to tie into the black granite.  NOW, the lower cabinets:  this is where I’m allowing myself a splash of color.  If I allow myself allllll of the splashes of color that I truly want, I’d have a clown house so I’m trying to practice restraint.  I also love two-toned cabinets.  In small spaces (like my tiny, windowless kitchen), the dark color on bottom weights the space down and the surrounding white makes the ceilings soar (the ceilings in here are less than 8 feet tall) and makes everything feel more spacious.

My bolder choices first:

River Blue

River Blue

Amazon Green

Amazon Green

 

Mediterrenean Teal

Mediterranean Teal

My calmer choices:

Stone Harbor
Stone Harbor
Rockport Gray

Rockport Gray

Almost Black

Almost Black

Fieldstone

Fieldstone

Perhaps, one reason I can’t decide on color is that I haven’t chosen my hardware yet.  I have a gorgeous brass faucet, so I’m deciding between brass hardware to match or oil rubbed bronze  hardware to play on the black granite.

Here are my hardware options:

Option 1: Modern in brushed brass or oil rubbed bronze

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Option 2: Traditional in brushed brass (shown) or oil rubbed bronze

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Option 3: Available in either oil rubbed bronze (shown) or brushed gold

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know your feedback!  My favorite so far is the Mediterranean Teal cabinet paint with hardware option 1 in oil rubbed bronze… OR the Almost Black cabinet color with one of the brushed brass hardware options… OR… this could go on and on.

