I’m a huge fan of vintage furniture, and one of my favorite vintage decorators is Dorothy Draper.  She revolutionized interior design by inventing “Modern Baroque.”  I absolutely love her color combinations (think: aubergine and pink) and her furniture.  Recently, I score a 1950s dresser for my guest room that had a beautiful white marble top.  The dresser was a dingy pale yellow, but it was in great vintage condition.  Immediately, I thought of Dorothy Draper when I brought it into my home.

1950s Dresser

1950s Dresser

Check out the marble top.  No stains.  Great condition!

1950s Dresser

1950s Dresser

I couldn’t decide how I wanted to finish it, so I took to the internet for some inspiration.  I knew I wanted it to have the “Draper touch” and considered some of the fun combinations below.

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 12.34.09 PM

Kindel Furniture

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 12.32.09 PM

Kindel Furniture

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 12.32.38 PM

Kindel Furniture

I’ve also considered a fun twist on the classic Draper by using a bright coral or soft green, like what Centsational Girl did here.  The guest room is rather traditional for my taste right now, and I want something that makes it come alive.

I’m attempting to re-do the entire guest room for under $100, which means keeping a tight budget.  Considering this dresser was 50% of the budget, I need to be wise with the hardware choice.  The best deal I’ve found on ring pull hardware is here.  I’ve also seen other people DIY ring pulls.  I’m priming the piece this evening and hopefully painting it tomorrow night.  Hopefully, the entire guest room makeover will be done next week!  I’m still searching for a lamp and some odds and ends.

