Tags

, ,

Last year, I noticed the trend of “color washing” wood was popular.  I’ve always loved the look of whitewashed brick and wood, so color washing is a fun, modern twist to it.

Wallpaper from Dutch company Eijffinger

 

 

Regina Yungjans on Apartment Therapy

I’ve been wanting to try it out, so I purchased an $8 common board from Home Depot and played around.


There was a lot of trial and error, but I finally got it down.


I mixed 2 parts water with 1 part craft acrylic paint.  I wanted the wood grain to show through; otherwise, it’d be a regular paint.  Usually, people wipe the paint off while it’s still wet to let just a bit of pigment remains.  I chose to leave mine on since I liked the bright color.


I added it to the top of my IKEA shoe cabinet, which I actually bought on Craigslist for a song.  It adds some color to the area, but I’m not sure I’ll keep it there yet.

 

I clearly love color, but I think wrapping the shoe cabinet in a natural wood might look better.  Sometimes, my ideas don’t look as great as I want them to, but no worries here. I have another idea for color washing in my home, and I’m positive it will be perfect in that spot.  At least, that’s what I’m telling my husband!

