Tags

, ,

I’m a big fan of the overdye trend. Overdyeing is the process of either dyeing a fabric for too long or for a second time to create a vibrant color.  It’s been used with jeans a lot, but I love its application to home decor.

 

Overdyed Persian-style Rug from Urban Outfitters

Overdyed rugs have been around for a while, but I only recently discovered overdyed quilts.  Gorgeous!

 

Overdyed Quilt from Urban Outfitters

I felt like I needed something overdyed in my life.  Luckily, I also needed some art in our entry.  I wanted to use a personal picture and found a meaningful picture of my husband and I at the college bar where we met.  There was A LOT going on in the original picture, so I used the PhotoSketch app to simplify it.


I ordered an engineer print of the image for $1.99.  It’s a cheap way to get a giant picture.

In my experience, regular images don’t look great on an engineer print, as they become heavily pixelated.  However, sketch images look great.

  I used watercolor paint to “overdye” my picture by simply painting a watery layer of color over the print.  I originally wanted to overdye it with a bright color, but I realized it would be placed next to my pink door.  I didn’t want the entry to appear too juvenile, so I chose an inky blue.

I’m really happy with the final product.  I still have plans for this area, especially  the shoe cabinet, but the art above it helps make the area feel more complete.


I got the frame at IKEA for $12.99, and my overdyed art was $1.99. The brass ‘E’ was an old Goodwill find for $0.99.  I love the hanging agate slices, which were actually glass Christmas ornaments found in the Target clearance section a couple years ago ($0.50 each).  Not a bad finished product for $17!

