Tags

, ,

We’ve been spending so much time beautifying our back patio that I never even realized how terrible our front patio had become. It’s set in the ground (our home is a garden level condo), and it’s filled with mosquitos currently. In our defense, we sweep this area every weekend, but it’s below the street level and fills up with dirt and leaves easily. I bought this IKEA outdoor rug for $8.99, but I regret not buying a nicer one elsewhere. It’s solid rubber on the bottom, so it holds water… mosquitos love that.  It also grips all stray leaves and is a pain to clean off. Anyways, here’s the before…


That random fern… it’s been there for a while. Anyways, I was at my local Goodwill, and I almost tripped on these two heavy urns.   

The price was right, so for less than $26 (and another sweeping) my patio got a mini update.       

I was considering giving them a facelift with some high gloss black paint, but I don’t mind their aged look. I do live in a busy part of the city though, so I might have to weight them down further or chain them down. I’ll definitely be switching out my beloved ferns for a bug repelling plant. I’ve heard that citronella, lemon balm, catnip, and marigolds repel mosquitos. I’m willing to try anything at this point!

Anyways, I’m sure our neighbors are happy that our home looks better in the front now! It’s in no way finished, but at least it looks clean and inviting!

