Tags

, , , ,

My husband and I have been making plans for our patio, and we finally decided that a sectional would fit our needs best outside.  Unfortunately, outdoor sectionals are ridiculously expensive.  I love the look of the following outdoor sectionals, but the prices are outrageous.  Ikea has a great option, but it was still more than I wanted to spend. I’m a big fan of my local Craigslist, but the cheapest used outdoor sectional I found in my area was $1,800.

Pottery Barn , $2,093

West Elm, $1,999

After extensive research googling DIY outdoor sectional, I found the blog More Like Home and their beautiful outdoor sectional adapted from Ana White plans.  My husband and I were somehow convinced (by the plethora of reviews) that we could tackle this project easily in a weekend.  HA HA HA.  We live in a condo… with quiet hours after 6 pm and every Sunday and holiday.  That means that all sanding, cutting, drilling, etc. had to be done on Saturdays or within the 5-6 pm stretch that we had after work.  Somehow, it was raining every Saturday that we wanted to tackle the project, so this project stretched out a WHILE for us!

Price was our main concern, so we chose to use 2x4s to save money.  We also didn’t want any wasted wood, so we used the website FitTools.com to maximize our wood cuts.  It’s a great site that allows you to type in all of your cuts that you need, and it plans out how to use the most of your boards.

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 11.19.43 AM

Adding my cut list to FitTools.com

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 11.20.19 AM

FitTools.com’s Cut List Suggestion

We wanted 3 regular seats and 1 corner seat, so we bought 22- 8 foot boards.  We decided to sand them with 80 grit, followed by 120 grit sandpaper, and then we stained the full boards with BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. We chose a gray semi-transparent stain.  We almost re-sanded them and chose a different finish. Time and laziness are the only things that stopped us.  The stain was extremely watery (as stain often is); however, this stain does not get wiped off like regular stain.  Our final product has a lot of drip marks.

Next, we rented a miter saw and cut our pieces.  We also cut a few 1/2″ spacer pieces for the seat boards (1/2″) and a 3 1/2″ spacer for the seat supports.  We chose to put two back boards on our pieces (wish I had done three), so we should have also cut a 1.8″ spacer for those boards.  Luckily, our screw boxes were almost the exact size we needed.


I wish I had considered what a huge undertaking getting the miter saw into our car and across DC would be. I would have had other projects prepared for cutting, so I would never have to do that again!  Anyways, we he cut…


And we built… 

And built…

And after several weekends, this “weekend project” is finished!

Despite being delayed by a lot of rain and a mini vacation to New Orleans, it was a fun, “quick” project. Building the piece was the fastest part of all! All I need to do now is decorate and have some fun back here! I did add my existing rug, table, and fern back there to fake some styling.

Here’s the breakdown in price:

Wood $110

Gloves (to handle the wood) $8

Sander with pads $46

Stain $30

Stain brushes $16

Miter saw rental $60

2.5″ Treated deck screws $30

TOTAL: $300 (not cheap, but significantly less money than the comparables)

or $170 in basic building supplies (wood, paint, screws)

Next up, cushions!

Safety disclaimer (because I’m sure my dad will mention it): We did build in flip flops, knowing it wasn’t the safest choice.  Next time, we’ll be sure to wear full protective gear and steel-toed boots. 🙂

