Tags

,

I grew up in a small town in the Midwest.  I love small towns and intimate communities (not THAT KIND of intimate), but my town had one major flaw: it was incredibly homogenous.  I longed to learn about other cultures and languages.  I longed to make friends that were not exactly like me.  I became obsessed with traveling.  That obsession never ended.

I got married, passed my obsession on to my husband, and it’s only grown. Every year, we try to go to at least one new place.  This year, we decided to head to Peru for Holy Week. Our itinerary:

Day 1: Fly into Cusco, Free City Tour with Guide

2Day 2: Enjoy Cusco, Find a Driver for Following Day

1Day 3: Tour the Sacred Valley (Pisac, Chínchero, Moray, Maras, Urubamba) with a Driver, Stay in Urubamba

5Day 4: Tour and Stay in Ollantaytambo

9Day 5: Visit Machu Picchu (pronounced Mah-choo Peak-choo), Stay in Ollantaytambo

11Day 6: Fly to Lima, Stay in and tour Lima

8Day 7: Fly back to the US

We’re experienced travelers, and our plans are never concrete.  Nothing EVER goes as planned when traveling. I’ve read many different itineraries for this same trip, and they’re all so different based on what people enjoy.  My husband and I are NOT relaxation travelers.  We crave adventure and constant movement.  We walked about 7 miles EVERY SINGLE DAY of our vacation.  We don’t know how to sit down.  We LOVE exploring. In hindsight, we probably would have flipped our trip around quite a bit.  We loved Cusco, and we were incredibly inspired by the design and architecture there.  We also enjoyed the beauty of the Sacred Valley, although we felt 1 day would have been sufficient for everything, including Ollantaytambo.  We ended up not staying in Ollantaytambo for a second night (we got bored there), and we caught an earlier flight to Lima.  I’m SO glad we had two nights in Lima!  We stayed in the Miraflores district, and we absolutely loved it.  It’s definitely a personal preference with vacations, but we are both “city people,” despite the fact that I was born in the middle of nowhere (it’s not on a map) in Indiana. It was such a whirlwind trip though!  Probably because we closed on our *NEW* home the DAY AFTER we arrived back.

